About SSSP

About SSSP

The Society for the Study of School Psychology (SSSP) is the direct descendent of the group that established the Journal of School Psychology (JSP) in the early 1960s. Over the past four decades, JSP has grown and prospered under the leadership of JSP editors (Donald Smith, Jack I. Bardon, Beeman N. Phillips, Thomas D. Oakland, Raymond S. Dean, Joel M. Meyers, Robert C. Pianta, Edward J. Daly III, and Randy G. Floyd) and the progressive guidance of the JSP corporation. By the late 1980s, JSP was generating some profit each year, but only limited funds were available to invest in activities associated with promoting school psychology as a discipline and profession. Richard Abidin brought this fact to the attention of the Board and additionally informed the Board that the contract they had with the publisher was not favorable to JSP Inc. He then proposed that JSP Inc be converted into a not-for-profit society and that a more favorable contract be sought at the next renewal of the publication contract for JSP. The rationale that the increase in funds would enable the new non-profit to have resources to benefit the profession. Changing the JSP corporation to a non-profit entity required an enormous amount of time and effort. Richard Abidin made a number of proposals to the Board of Directors urging the change in status and then persuaded its members to donate their shares to the new SSSP. The original shareholders were given a cash settlement and a tax deduction as part of these arrangements. The process was an enormous undertaking with key roles played in the transition from the old JSP Inc. to the SSSP by Richard Abidin, James Eikeland, Michael Curtis, Thomas Oakland, and Emanuel Mason. SSSP has a unique role among school psychology organizations, a mission that is devoted exclusively to recognizing and promoting scholarship and research. Although the total amount of funding varies annually, SSSP will distribute about $90,000 in 2012 to support school psychology research activities. Major SSSP initiatives include the Early Career Research Award, Dissertation Grant Award, International Research Award, School Psychology Research Collaboration Conference, and the newly created Research Registry. This funding, coupled with the firm commitments of scholars and practitioners toward validating effective practices and expanding the scope and effectiveness of school psychological services, can become a significant force in the design and implementation of school psychological services in the 21st century.

A narrative history of SSSP and the Journal of School Psychology appeared in the Journal of School Psychology http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S002244051200088X.

Officers of the Society for the Study of School Psychology Since 1990

Years President Past-President Presidient-Elect Treasurer Secretary
1990-1992 Michael Curtis Thomas Oakland Emanuel Mason James Eikeland Richard Abidin
1992-1994 Emanuel Mason Michael Curtis Daniel Reschly Richard Abidin Jack Bardon, James Eikeland*
1994-1996 Daniel Reschly Emanuel Mason Beeman Phillips Richard Abidin Thomas Kehle
1996-1998 Beeman Phillips Daniel Reschly Thomas Kratochwill Sylvia Rosenfield Thomas Kehle
1998-2000 Thomas Kratochwill Beeman Phillips Richard Abidin Sylvia Rosenfield Cathy Telzrow
2000-2002 Richard Abidin Thomas Kratochwill Daniel Reschly Bonnie Nastasi Kathy McNamara
2002 Daniel Reschly Richard Abidin Sylvia Rosenfield Bonnie Nastasi Shane Jimerson
2004-2006 Sylvia Rosenfield Daniel Reschly Patti Harrison Bonnie Nastasi Sandy Christenson
2006-2008 Patti Harrison Sylvia Rosenfield Sandra Christenson John Hintze Elaine Clark
2009 Sandra Christenson Patti Harrison Susan Sheridan John Hintze Elaine Clark
2010 Susan Sheridan Sandra Christenson George DuPaul John Hintze Elaine Clark
2011 George DuPaul Susan Sheridan Thomas Power John Hintze Karen Stoiber
2012 Thomas Power George DuPaul William Erchul

Margaret Semrud-Clikeman

Karen Stoiber
2013 William Erchul Thomas Power Cynthia Riccio

Margaret Semrud-Clikeman

Karen Stoiber
2014 Cynthia Riccio William Erchul Elaine Clark

Margaret Semrud-Clikeman

Karen Stoiber
2015 Elaine Clark Cynthia Riccio Stacy Overstreet

Margaret Semrud-Clikeman

Karen Stoiber
2016 Stacy Overstreet Elaine Clark Robert Volpe Margaret Semrud-Clikeman Karen Stoiber
2017 Robert Volpe Stacy Overstreet Sandra Chafouleas Jeffery Braden Gary Stoner

Note. Until 2009, officer terms varied in length with presidents serving for two years.  Until 2008, terms were from August to August.  Thus, Sylvia Rosenfield was president from August 2004 until August 2006. Patti Harrison was president from August 2006 through December 2008. Sandra Christenson was president from January 2009 through December 2009.

*Eikeland was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Jack Bardon following Bardon's death in 1993.

A narrative history of SSSP and the Journal of School Psychology appeared in the Journal of School Psychology http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S002244051200088X. The current board members (as of January 1, 2017) are:

 

Robert Volpe, President
Northeastern University
Stacy Overstreet, Past-President
Tulane University
Sandra Chafouleas, President-Elect
University of Connecticut
Peg Semrud-Clikeman, Treasurer
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Jeffery P. Braden, Treasurer (ex-officio)
North Carolina State University
Gary Stoner, Secretary
University of Rhode Island
Tanya Eckert, Director of Operations
Syracuse University
Steven Evans, Director for Research and Scientific Practice (ex-officio)
Ohio University
Michelle Demaray, Editor-JSP (ex-officio)
Northern Illinois University
Jennifer Franklin, Publisher
Elsevier Ltd.

 

Significant activities of Board members have been: (a) implementation of a procedure for appointing new members; (b) negotiation of new JSP publication contracts with Elsevier, (c) oversight and assistance to the JSP Editor, Michelle Demaray; (d) development of policies regarding the enhancement of the SSSP's financial resources; and (e) establishment of awards to recognize and support research in school psychology.

There are currently 129 members of SSSP. The SSSP charter restricts membership to no more than 150 persons. The current membership is composed of a combination of members from the shareholders of the JSP Corporation and members elected to society membership.

 

Member Selection
Typically, three to five new members are admitted to SSSP each year. Nominations are submitted by members of SSSP. The membership committee, which is comprised of SSSP members, evaluates nominees on several criteria, including: (a) sustained contributions to the field of school psychology, (b) awards and honors, (c) originality of contributions, (d) impact on training, (e) impact on practice, (f) impact on science, and (g) depth and breadth of contributions.

 

SSSP Membership (as of January 2017)

Richard Abidin RRA@virginia.edu
Scott P. Ardoin spardoin@uga.edu
Craig Albers caalbers@wisc.edu
Jennifer Asmus asmus@wisc.edu
David Barnett barnetdw@uc.edu
George Bear gbear@udel.edu
Jack Bergan Jack@ati-online.com
Virginia Berninger vwb@u.washington.edu
Bruce Bracken babrac@wm.edu
Jeff Braden jeff_braden@ncsu.edu
Melissa Bray mbray@uconn.edu
Amy Briesch a.briesch@neu.edu
Matthew Burns burnsmk@missouri.edu
Gary Canivez glcanivez@eiu.edu
Cindy Carlson Cindy.Carlson@mail.utexas.edu
John Carlson carlsoj@msu.edu
Sandy Chafouleas sandra.chafouleas@uconn.edu
Theodore Christ tchrist@umn.edu
Sandy Christenson chris002@umn.edu
Elaine Clark clark@ed.utah.edu
Robin Codding rcodding@umn.edu
Jane Conoley jane-conoley@education.ucsb.edu
Jack Cummings cummings@indiana.edu
Mike Curtis curtis@usf.edu
Rik Carl D’Amato rdamato@thechicagoschool.edu
Peg Dawson pegdawson@comcast.net
Michelle K. Demaray mkdemaray@niu.edu
James DiPerna jdiperna@psu.edu
Beth Doll bdoll2@unl.edu
Jason Downer jdowner@virginia.edu
George DuPaul GJD3@lehigh.edu
Tanya Eckert taeckert@syr.edu
Jim Eikeland Jeikeland@aol.com
Steve Elliott Steve_Elliott@asu.edu
Anne Teeter Ellison teeter@uwm.edu
Ann Engin aengin@sc.rr.com
William Erchul William_erchul@ncsu.edu
Steven Evans evanss3@ohio.edu
Gregory Fabiano fabiano@buffalo.edu
Tom Fagan tfagan@MEMPHIS.EDU
Jennifer Figurelli jfigurelli@msn.com
Randy Floyd rgfloyd@memphis.edu
Susan Forman sgforman@rci.rutgers.edu
Joe French f28@psu.edu
Craig Frisby Frisbycl@missouri.edu
Michael Furlong mfurlong@education.ucsb.edu
Maribeth Gettinger mgetting@wisc.edu
David Goh david.goh@qc.cuny.edu
Gil Gredler gredler@sc.edu
Frank Gresham gresham@lsu.edu
Peter Gross dpgross2@aol.com
Terry Gutkin tgutkin@sfsu.edu
Pat Harrison pharriso@bamaed.ua.edu
Keith C. Herman hermanke@missouri.edu
Suzanne Hoagland bshoagland@yahoo.com
Kimberly Hoagwood Kimberly.Hoagwood@nyumc.org
Jessica A. Hoffman j.hoffman@neu.edu
John Hintze hintze@educ.umass.edu
Steve Hooper Stephen_hooper@med.unc.edu
Scott Huebner huebner@gwm.sc.edu
Jan Hughes Jhughes@tamu.edu
George Hynd hynd@oakland.edu
Bill Jenson Jenson@ed.utah.edu
Shane Jimerson Jimerson@education.ucsb.edu
Randy Kamphaus randyk@uoregon.edu
Alan Kazdin Alan.Kazdin@yale.edu
Tom Kehle Thomas.kehle@uconn.edu
Tim Keith Tim.keith@mail.utexas.edu
John Kranzler jkranzler@coe.ufl.edu
Tom Kratochwill tomkat@education.wisc.edu
Tom Kubiszyn tkubiszyn@uh.edu
Kathy Leighton leighton12@aol.com
Emilia Lopez Emilia.Lopez@qc.cuny.edu
Christine Malecki cmalecki@niu
Brian Martens bkmarten@psych.syr.edu
Emanuel Mason e.mason@neu.edu
William Masten william.masten@tamuc.edu
James Mazza mazza@uw.edu
Stephanie McConaughy stephanie.mcconaughy@uvm.edu
David McIntosh demcintosh@bsu.edu
Kent McIntosh kentm@uoregon.edu
Laura Lee McIntrye llmcinty@uoregon.edu
Caven McLoughlin Caven@kent.edu
Kathy McNamara k.mcnamara@csuohio.edu
Joel Meyers Jpmeyers@gsu.edu
Kathleen M. Minke minke@udel.edu
Bonnie Nastasi Bonnastasi@yahoo.com
George Noell Gnoell@lsu.edu
Samuel Ortiz ortizs@stjohns.edu
Stacy Overstreet soverst@tulane.edu
Julie Owens owensj@ohio.edu
Stephen Peverly stp4@columbia.edu
LeAdelle Phelps phelps@buffalo.edu
Beeman Phillips Beeman.phillips@mail.utexas.edu
Bob Pianta rcp4p@virginia.edu
Thomas Power power@email.chop.edu
Linda Reddy ­lreddy@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Wendy M. Reinke reinkew@missouri.edu
Amy Reschly reschly@uga.edu
Dan Reschly Dan.reschly@vanderbilt.edu
Cecil Reynolds crrh@earthlink.net
Cynthia Riccio criccio@tamu.edu
Chris Riley-Tillman rileytillmant@missouri.edu
Andrew Roach aroach@gsu.edu
Sylvia Rosenfield srosenf@umd.edu
Phil Saigh PASaigh@aol.com
Jon Sandoval jhsandoval@ucdavis.edu
Ann Schulte ann.schulte@asu.edu
Peg Semrud-Clikeman semrud@gmail.com
Susan Sheridan ssheridan2@unl.edu
Mark R. Shinn markshinn@me.com
Chris Skinner cskinne1@utk.edu
Diane Smallwood Diane141@aol.com
Kevin Stark Kevinstark@mail.utexas.edu
Karen Stoiber kstoiber@uwm.edu
Gary Stoner gstoner@uri.edu
Shannon Suldo suldo@usf.edu
Susan Swearer sswearer@unl.edu
Mark Swerdlik meswerd@ilstu.edu
Deborah Tharinger dtharinger@mail.utexas.edu
Stephen Truscott cpssdt@langate.gsu.edu
Kristen Varjas kvarjas@gsu.edu
Amanda VanDerHeyden amandavande@gmail.com
Robert J. Volpe r.volpe@neu.edu
James Wakefield jw@toto.csustan.edu
Marley W. Watkins marley_watkins@baylor.edu
Barbara Williams williamsb@rowan.edu
David Wodrich dwodrich@email.arizona.edu
Frank Worrell frankc@berkeley.edu
Jim Ysseldyke jim@umn.edu
Zheng Zhou zhouz@stjohns.edu
Barry Zimmerman bzimmerman@gc.cuny.edu

SSSP Emeritus Members (either no longer active or deceased)

Jean Baker
Bartell W. Cardon
Raymond S. Dean
Victor B. Elkin
William Farling
Monroe Gottsegen
Nadine Lambert
Tom Oakland
Stephen Rauch
Frances Redmond
Nancy Reynolds
Donald Schmits
Ed Shapiro
Scott Sigmon
Cathy Telzrow (Emeritus)
Gil Trachtman
Ena Vazquez-Nuttall
Don Wonderly
Joe Zins
 

Announcements

  • The RFA for the 2017 Shapiro Mid-Career Scholar Research Initiative is now available! Applications are due August 1, 2017 at 5pm Eastern Time. Donwload RPF
  • Congratulations to new board members Sandra Chafouleas (President-Elect), Jeffery P. Braden (Treasurer), and Gary Stoner (Secretary)!
  • Thank you for your service as board members Elaine Clark (Past-President), Margaret Semrud Clikeman (Treasurer), and Karen C. Stoiber (Secretary)!
  • Congratulations to new President Robert Volpe, and thank you Stacy Overstreet for your past service as President! View Current Board